WhatsApp has introduced a new feature called “Chat Close” that helps improve the privacy of your private conversations.
If you decide to make a certain chat private, it will be moved to a separate folder, which can only be accessed after entering the password.
How to hide a chat and make it private in WhatsApp? First, click on the name of the interlocutor or the name of the group, and then select the “Close chat” option.
To reopen a private chat, swipe slowly over it, enter your phone password, or use biometric identification.
After closing the chat, it will be moved from the main screen to a separate folder. To access it, you will need to enter a device password or use biometric data, such as a fingerprint.
It is important to note that the content of messages from private chats will be automatically hidden in notifications.
This feature will come in handy in cases where you hand over your phone to another person for any reason and an important private message arrives at that moment.
In the coming months, the Close Chat feature will be expanded to include the ability to close chats on linked devices and create a unique password for each closed chat.
NIX Solutions notes that the “Close Chat” feature is expected to become available to all users in the near future.